Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence

2018 Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence

Julia Alvarez


2018 Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence Reading

Julia Alvarez

Tuesday, February 27

Genome Sciences Auditorium

7:30 p.m.

UNC Campus

Free and Open to the Public 

Julia Alvarez Bio


2018 Panels

About the Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence

Previous Writers-in-Residence

Visitor Parking Map

Like us on Facebook!


2018 Panels



Monday, February 26, 3:30 p.m.

Donovan Lounge

From the ghettos of war-torn Warsaw to the American civil rights movement, writers have long been catalysts of social change. But while most writers agree that we have an inherent responsibility to speak out, we debate whether our allegiance should be to our activism or to our art. Is there a way to honor both, without compromising either—or sounding self-righteous? In the age of Fake News, how can we create narratives that genuinely work toward justice rather than simply spotlight problems? This panel of socially engaged writers will explore the evolving responsibilities and possibilities of our trade, from journalistic dispatches to novels, essays, poems, and plays.


Julia Alvarez. Poet, novelist, essayist, and 2018 Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence

Daisy Hernandez. Essayist, fiction writer, and Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Miami University

Stephanie Elizondo Griest, Travel writer, journalist, and Assistant Professor of Creative Nonfiction at UNC

Moderator: Ariana Vigil. Scholar and Associate Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies at UNC




Wednesday, February 28, 3:30 p.m.

Donovan Lounge

No matter our birthplace, our earliest cultural allegiance is to family. Flannery O’Connor said that any writer who survived childhood has enough material to write about for a lifetime. Family matters. How it tethers and informs us, embroils us in its plots, shrinks and grows us, shames, consoles, amuses and breaks our hearts is foundational to the human experience and the writer’s voice. Julia Alvarez has written that one’s basic sense of self-understanding comes from one’s upbringing and the tales that empower her fiction are from stories she heard as a girl. How do writers turn personal history into art? What are the challenges of walking the tightrope between truth and fiction and how does a writer navigate them?



Julia Alvarez. poet, novelist, essayist, and 2018 Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence

Daniel Wallace. Fiction, Professor of Creative Writing at UNC

Thomas Mira Y Lopez. Creative nonfiction, Kenan Writer-in-Residence, Creative Writing at UNC

Moderator: Marianne Gingher. Fiction, Professor of Creative Writing at UNC


About the Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence Program

The Department of English and Comparative Literature proudly announces the creation of the Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence Program.  This program will build upon our department’s long-standing commitment to the value of a writer-in-residence program that spans over two decades. Through the generosity of the Morgan Writer-in-Residence Program (1993-2012) and the Distinguished Writer-in-Residence Program (2013-2015), our department has brought significant contemporary writers to campus to meet with students and faculty, to visit classes, and to give readings, talks, and symposia. The Frank B. Hanes Writer-in-Residence Program affirms and continues that tradition. It will ensure that our students continue to be inspired by interactions with important writers of our time.  Furthermore, it will greatly enrich the intellectual climate and lively literary culture on Carolina’s campus.

The Department of English and Comparative Literature heartily thanks the Hanes family for its generous sponsorship of the program.  The program honors the late Frank Borden Hanes, Sr., (Class of 1942).  Mr. Hanes has long been a gracious supporter of Creative Writing at Carolina and has made gifts with powerful lasting impact.  He endowed the Thomas Wolfe Scholarship, which brings highly promising young writers to the Creative Writing Program, and he also supported the teaching and creativity of our Creative Writing faculty in countless ways.  Mr. Hanes himself was a passionate author, a proud and loyal alumnus, and an outstanding citizen of our state.

Previous Writers-in-Residence

Frank B. Hanes Writers-in-Residence

2017 Ted Conover 
2016 Natasha Trethewey

Distinguished Writers-in-Residence

2015 Terry Tempest Williams
2014 Stewart O'Nan
2013 Mary Karr

Morgan Writers-in-Residence

2012 Athol Fugard
2011 Amy Hempel
2010 Edward P. Jones
2009 Mark Strand
2008 Alice McDermott
2007 Tim O'Brien
2006 Joan Didion
2005 Robert Hass
2004 Alice Walker (in conjunction with the Center of the American South)
2003 Calvin Trillin
2002 Tobias Wolff
2001 John Edgar Wideman
2000 Russell Banks
1999 Richard Wilbur
1998 Rita Dove
1998 Robert Pinsky
1997 Richard Ford
1996 Beth Henley
1995 Annie Dillard
1993 Shelby Foote